The Hermit Poet

The Hermit Poet




‘Let’s go to the forest’ whisper  my feet,
A wise tree with cool leaves is my seat,
Colourful birds all-free wake up and greet
Aurora’s beauty which no Human artistry can defeat.

In the lotus position merrily I sit,
Distracting bonds in my mind like drums beat.

Rule 1 is :Never  panick by Maya’s* tricks,
Rule 2 is: Be aware  of all hindrances shouting ‘Weak’,
Rule 3 is: Let go of  all obstructions that to Mind-Wild sneak.

Rule 4 is:  Gently, softly let the agitated mind tranquilize,
Rule 5  is: Zealously, happily go back to Mindfulness of Breathing  all-wise.

To this hermit- life I’m new,
Obstacles are at times many, at times few;
But the Enlightened One* is my Guru,
His Dhamma* helps my life to grow, expand , renew.

Spiritual efforts and investigation I’ll never quit,
The five precepts* are my Daily Principles’ kits.
The Four Noble Truths*, The Suttas*-in them I plunge each day,
Meditation practice tests me, smiles at me in its peculiar ways.

Bonds, bonds-I’ve severed them all,
Supramundane Nibbana* is  the ultimate goal,
‘But to it never be attached too’ advise the masters bold.


In blissful solitude,
amidst lovely Nature
flow in verse  my spiritual quest, my experiences on paper;
Thank you Enlightened One to be my muse, my caretaker.

To the world I give some poetry,
O Readers, rise beyond All-Mundane and be happy!

Vatsala Radhakeesoon

*Maya : Illusion

*Enlightened One: The Buddha

*Dhamma: The teachings, the doctrine

*Five Precepts: Referring to the 5 precepts of Buddhism:
1. I shall not kill
2. I shall not steal
3. I shall not be involved in sexual misconduct
4.I shall not lie
5. I shall not take  toxic and harmful substances such as alcohol and drugs

* The Four Noble Truths: This refers to the basic teachings of Buddhism:
1.Suffering (Dukkha)
2. The arising/origin of suffering (Samudaya)
3. The cessation of suffering(Nirodha)
4.The way leading to the cessation of suffering (Magga)

*The Suttas: discourses /sermons of The Buddha

*Nibbana: Ultimate Reality, Abslute Truth, Freedom from the cycle of birth and death




This entry was posted in Poetry on by .

About vatsala radhakeesoon

Born in Mauritius in 1977, Vatsala Radhakeesoon is the author of the poetry books ,When Solitude Speaks (2013) and Depth of the River ( July 2017). She is the representative of Immagine and poesia (Italy based literary artistic movement) for Mauritius. Her works also regularly appear in online literary journals, magazines and blogs such as Setu, Indiana Voice Journal, Dissident Voice , Tuck Magazine , Destiny Poets and others. Vatsala is currenly self-employed and continues to write poems in English, Kreol, French and Hindi.

9 thoughts on “The Hermit Poet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.